Skip to main content


Department of Marketing


The Department of Marketing was established on 30th July 2013, at the 233rd Meeting of the Senate of the University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Nigeria. The approval for the Department was given by the Senate along with the establishment of Faculty of Management Sciences, University of Ilorin.

Faculty of Management Sciences started with four Departments amongst which include: Accounting, Business Administration, Marketing and Finance Department. Two additional Departments: Industrial Relations and Personnel Management (IRP) and Public Administration were created in the 2014/2015 session. This makes the total number of Department in Faculty of Management Sciences to be six presently.

Marketing Department started with four Academic Staff and two Non Academic staff but is currently having Eight Academic Staff and three Non Academic Staff. There are one hundred and twenty five students that enrolled for the B.Sc Marketing Programme in 2013/ 2014 Session. This number has increased to Two hundred and Seventy students in the 2014/ 2015 session. The Pioneer and current Head of Department is Dr. R.A. Gbadeyan.

In addition to the B.Sc. Degree, the University of Ilorin Senate has approved also the Diploma in Marketing and Logistics programme for the Department; which has taken off in the 2014/2015 Session. The Coordinator for the Diploma in Marketing and Logistics Programme is Dr Y. I. Mustapha.