Skip to main content

Science Education

Brief Historical Background of the Department of Science Education

When the Faculty of Education was established as one of the pioneering Faculties of the University College, llorin in 1975, there was a Department of Education. At that time, the Department of Education offered degree programmes in Arts, Science, Guidance and Counselling and Educational Management. By the beginning of 1978/79 academic year, the Department of Education had expanded in students' population and in its degree offerings to justify a division of the existing degree programmes into three distinct departments.

Specifically, in 1979, the Department of Education was split into (a) the Department of Teacher Education; (b) Department of Guidance and Management and (c) Department of Adult Education and Extension services. By the 1979/80 academic year, the Department of Teacher Education had begun co­ordinating the degree programmes in the Sciences, the Humanities as well as co­ordinating the Educational Foundation courses for all Education students in the Faculty of Education.

In 1980, the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences was established. It then began to run degree programmes in the social sciences. Since the teaching of Social Sciences is relevant to secondary school offerings, the Department of Teacher Education included, into its offerings, degree programmes in selected Social Sciences such as Economics and Geography. The inclusion of degree programmes in the Social Sciences expanded the Department of Teacher Education beyond a manageable size. To trim the degree programmes run by the Department of Teacher education to manageable size, a proposal was presented to the Senate of the University to restructure the Departments of the Faculty of Education. The outcome of such a proposal led to the carving out of the Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology from the Department of Teacher Education in March, 1981. By October 1981, the Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology commenced degree programmes in Mathematics Education; Physics Education, Chemistry Education; Biology Education; Geography and Economics Education. In 1983, the B Ed Educational Technology Programme housed in the Department was approved by the University Senate. The programme took off in the 1984/85 Academic Session.

From 1984 to 2004, the Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology thus offered degree programmes in Science Education, namely, Physics Education, Chemistry Education, Biology Education, Mathematics Education, and in Educational Technology as well as degree programmes in Economics and Geography Education. In August 2004, The Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology was renamed The Department of Science Education to offer degrees only in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics Education and Educational technology. The Social Science degree programmes were transferred to the Department of Arts and Social Sciences Education, formerly called The Department of Educational Foundations.

Programme Philosophy and Objectives
The primary mission and vision of the Department of Science Education is:

  • to train and produce professional teachers who go into all levels in Nigeria’s education industry.
  • to prepare professionally qualified graduate teachers in the Sciences – Mathematics, Core Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Biology) and Information and Communications Technology (Educational Technology).
  • to assist students acquire academic and professional excellence and competence in the various teaching subjects so as to enable them teach effectively in Post Primary Institutions, and
  • to develop in students basic aspects of the individual subject areas, including the art and skills of teaching and classroom management.